I’m Enough!

IMG_5148 I’ve been doing an online class with Brene Brown via the Oprah Now Network and really enjoying it.  One of the things she had us do in the first week was to write on our hand…I used tape because I was afraid the Sharpie wouldn’t come off and I’m always yelling at my kiddos not to write on their hands. 🙂

So she had us put on our hand I’m imperfect and I’m enough.  It’s a pretty powerful message and gave me the freedom to just mess up from time-to-time.  The thing is we all mess up.  We all make mistakes, burn dinner, spill coffee on our keyboard, eat our kid’s french fries at McDonalds (maybe that’s just me) and it’s okay.

We all do it.  And even if everyone else doesn’t do owning that truth about myself was very powerful and gave me the freedom to just say I’m enough.

For a long time I’ve felt like I had to be more, had to be better or do something more to be enough for my life.  Shouldn’t an author have a certain style and sophistication?  Shouldn’t a mother always have the answers and be able to point her kids toward the right path?  Shouldn’t a wife keep a perfect home and create a calm oasis for her husband?

But all of these things always seemed just out of my grasp.  Like I could maybe have tried harder or done better.  And suddenly I didn’t have to any more.  I’m doing the best I can and that’s enough.  And it was totally freeing.

What about you?  Do you ever feel like say that’s it?  If so I highly recommend saying I’m imperfect and I’m enough. 🙂

Drop me a line today on this blog.  I’m giving away a e-copy of my latest release A Cowboy For Christmas.  The heroine also is dealing with some stuff as she comes home for the first time in 15 years for Christmas.

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Enough!

  1. My comments weren’t working earlier and they all went to feedback but here is what some of you had to say:

    Catherine Lemanski

    I do feel at time that my life is spinning out of control. I am going to try writing on my hand today and see if that helps. Thanks for sharing the idea.

    Angie Thompson
    I waffle between feeling like I have it all together and wondering what the $&!! I am doing! I embrace the fact that I am not perfect. And 99% of the time I feel as though I am enough. Like Al Franken said, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!”

  2. This is a very thought provoking blog. I think I’ve messed up way too much to ever think I can be perfect.:) The message kind of goes along with something I have to tell friends and family sometimes. Try to treat yourself as you would one of your friends. Don’t beat up on yourself. Naturally, I don’t always succeed in that, but it’s a good thing to try for, I think.

Leave a Reply

