Blustery Days

Have you started your Christmas shopping yet? That’s one of the things that I always try to at least plan for in between all my fun Thanksgiving planning. But this year I’m running behind. I’ve been writing a lot but also I’m really trying to get up from my desk and get outside to enjoy the changes in the season.

IMG_5658Until I lived in the UK I’d never heard the term blustery day outside of Winnie the Pooh. ☺ I like putting on my rain boots and going for a walk in the fallen leaves as the rain falls softly and the wind whips around me.

IMG_5846When I get back inside it’s time to warm up with a cup of tea or hot cocoa with whipped cream and holiday sprinkles…what’s a holiday without sprinkles??? I usually pursue the catalogues which fill the mailbox looking for interesting presents for my loved ones.

Here is my homemade hot cocoa recipe. This makes one serving. I top mine with whipped cream and sprinkles!

INGREDIENTS
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 to 2 tablespoons sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)
1 cup milk or any combination of milk, half-and-half, or cream
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

PREPARATION
Whisk together the cocoa, sugar, salt, and about 2 tablespoons milk in a small saucepan over medium-low heat until cocoa and sugar are dissolved. Whisk in the rest of the milk and heat it over medium heat, whisking occasionally, until it is hot. Stir in the vanilla and serve.

IMG_1443What’s your favorite way to warm up? I have a Holiday Heat gift pack for one lucky blog commenter. I’ll pick a winner tonight and post their name on this blog tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

